October 2017 Chapter Meeting

David Bollinger, President, opened the meeting discussing recognition opportunities.

The meeting started with general rounds where people introduced themselves. Sara Martin introduced her new EHS technician. Justin Bielss was introduces as the new Student Liaison.

David also mentioned that at future meetings, business review who be placed on screen at beginning of meeting and only 2 to 3 key items discussed. The boarding meeting notes can also be found on the web page under files.

The first of two award ceremonies then occurred. First Eddie Greer received his ASSE Hall of Fame award from David Bollinger.

1) Eddie” Greer, CSP, OHST HOF

Recognizing his outstanding service to the safety profession and workplace, the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE)

  • PREVIOUSLY NAMED as Society Fellow IN 2007.
    • The Society Fellow is the highest honor granted by ASSE, recognizing Professional Members who have displayed life-long excellence in safety and service. Nominated by their peers, region or chapter, candidates for the Society Fellow honor are selected based upon their work, involvement in ASSE and long-term contributions in advancing the safety profession.
  • Speaker at numerous PDCs
  • Greer was president and owner of Eddie Greer & Associates, a safety and health consulting company specializing in safety and health process reviews, program development, cold-eyes project evaluations, culture surveys, training and education at all levels of organizations, as well as expert witness testimonies.
  • Previously, Greer retired from Kellogg Brown & Root/KBR after 31 years of service, where he held various SH&E leadership positions.
  • He has a Bachelor Degree in Business Administration from LeTourneau University and an Associate in Science Degree from Paris Junior College
  • Greer is past president of ASSE where he has been a professional member for 40+ years.
  • He has chaired the Society Professional Conduct Committee, is a trustee for the ASSE and Texas Safety Foundations and is a member of the Gulf Coast Chapter, where he was honored as the Gulf Coast Chapter Safety Professional of the Year in 1987.
  • Greer served on the Board of Certified Safety Professionals and as President for the International Network of Safety & Health Practitioner Organizations (INSHPO)

Eddie then presented Del Tally with an TSA (Texas Safety Association) trainers award.

Here is a round down of items covered in business meeting.

2) Recognition

Justin Bielss has joined board as the Student Liaison

ASSE prepares long service certificates for members who have been with the Society for 25, 40 or 50 years.

This is an extremely important project as it demonstrates to our members that we appreciate their support of ASSE and the safety community, and it gives us an opportunity to thank them.

  • 25 Ruben Castillo, Pflugerville TX
  • 25 Peter Gilmore, Belton, TX
  • 25 Timothy Howard, Hewitt, TX
  • 25 David Johnson, Bryan, TX
  • 25 David Ritchie, Bastrop, TX


Applications for both scholarships and grants are accepted online from September 1 through December 1 each year. Only a single application must be filled out for either program to be eligible for all available awards. If selected for an award, you will be matched with one based on the criteria set forth by the fund’s donor. Scholarship and grant applicants will be notified in April as to the status of their application. Funds are disbursed shortly afterwards for scholarships, or upon receiving documentation of professional education for grants.

  • Texas Safety Foundation Del Tally HSE Scholarship
  • Texas Safety Foundation George Gustafson HSE Memorial Scholarship
  • Texas Safety Foundation HSE Scholarship
  • Thompson Scholarship for Women in Safety
  • Blacks in Safety Engineering Scholarship
  • Dr. Daniel Della-Giustina – Greater West Virginia Chapter Scholarship
  • Rixio Medina & Associates Hispanics in Safety Scholarship
  • Texas Safety Foundation Del Tally HSE Scholarshipo Eric WeissTexas A&M University – College StationEnvironmental & Occupational Health$2,000

For more information the foundation can be contacted at assefoundation@assp.org or you can call at 847-699-29294)

4) Financial Review and Budget

  • Board approved funding for student chapter $750 each
  • Board approved for 500 for Hurricane Relief
  • PDC Construction seminar profits will be assigned to construction sub-section as a budget item
  • September income/expenditures provided.

5) SPY Award

Submittals are due by Feb 1 for Chapter – 1 page application

We have a number of potential candidates. If interested in nominating someone or nominating self contact a board member. Board will help with submittal.

6) Survey

Thank you for the 12 members who completed a survey. The results will be reviewed in a future meeting.

7) Need a Chair Person Elect for PDC and a Social Chair

  • Will Assist on this year PDC for 2018
  • Run PDC effort for 2019
  • Work with contractor, Innovation Event Management on running next PDC in 2018
  • Identify Topics and speakers
  • Manage costs
  • Provide written updates to Board and final report
  • Next PDC will focus on Emergency Preparedness and Response
  • There were no takers at the meeting.

President then ask if there were any questions from present members. Mike Donahue introduced new Membership chair Richard Box and reminded everyone to sign sign-in sheet.

8) Presentation

Joann Natarajan, OSHA Compliance Assistance Specialist, provided a 40-minute update on OSHA current and future regulations. She started by reviewing the top 10 causes of death for general industry and for construction in Texas. She ended with a Q and A session with members present. Another great job by Joann. A copy of the slide show and covered topics can be found on the web page for the chapter.

The meeting then ended after her presentation. Lunch was provided by the chapter.