Call for Volunteers: 2024 Student Member Scholarship Awards Committee

Great news — we are bringing back our Student Scholarship this year! This is an open call for volunteers to review and award the 2024 Student Member Scholarship Awards from our Texas State Technical College (TSTC) and Texas A&M student sections. We are requesting 2-3 volunteers be available for between 1-4 hours (max) the week of April 29 – May 3 to review and then meet virtually to vote. (This will be scheduled in advance by our Student Leadership Chair, Morgan Menesis.)

Please contact Jennifer Hsu at to express interest in volunteering or to ask questions.

This is a great opportunity to get involved in our Chapter, short-term!

March 2024 Chapter Meeting

For our March 2024 Chapter Meeting, we had a rare glimpse into the behind-the-scenes event set-up pre-SXSW. Our EHS Walkthrough at the Austin Convention Center resulted in 39 submissions to help the Austin Convention Center team work with Convention Center Leadership on communicating and discussing systemic solutions to promote environmental, health and safety for all workers and visitors.

Call for Nominations for Central Texas Chapter Officers 2024-2025

It’s time for nominations! Is now your time to lead as an American Society of Safety Professionals – Central Texas Chapter Officer?

Consider nominating yourself, a colleague or another ASSP member, for a role on our ASSP Platinum Awarding Winning Executive Board for the 2024-2025 year or beyond. We are a volunteer run, 501(c)3 non-profit organization. There is so much opportunity to bring safety education and awareness to our fellow safety professionals and the Central Texas community.

Read More

Election Results: Chapter Officers for 2023 – 2024

The election for 2023-2024 Chapter Officers was held on June 22, 2023 during the June Chapter Meeting. All officers nominated ran unopposed. The new core Executive Board Officers for the 2023-2024 chapter year are as follows:

  • President: Jennifer M.T. Hsu
  • President-Elect: Belynda Powers
  • Secretary: Robert Garcia
  • Treasurer: Jason Allgood
  • Chapter Advisor: Kenneth Merian
  • Chapter Advisor: Mary Jo Press

Congratulations to all! We know everyone will work hard and collaborate to bring the best member experience to the Central Texas Chapter.